VFA Awards

Virginia Forestry Association Distinguished Service Award

The Distinguished Service Award of the Virginia Forestry Association gives public recognition to individuals, groups, associations, and/or companies and corporations who make a significant, continuing and lasting contribution to the conservation of Virginia’s forest resources and/or the enhancement of Virginia’s forest-based community. The award can be given to anyone whether or not directly associated with the Virginia forest-based community, the Virginia Forestry Association or any other resource-based or conservation-oriented association. The award is not limited to residents of the Commonwealth of Virginia. Nomination of any person, group or organization for this award should be based, at a minimum, on the following:

1. Demonstrated leadership in one or more activities which have had a positive impact on the development and use of Virginia’s forest resources.

2. A history of personal or corporate commitment to the conservation of Virginia’s forest resources and/or the enhancement of Virginia’s forest-based industry.

3. Personal or organizational traits and qualities of integrity and good citizenship.

The activity(s) for which a nomination is made may reflect performance in a local, regional or statewide arena. Activities undertaken and performed as a part of an occupation and/or business pursuit may qualify for this award.

This award is given annually at the Virginia Forestry Summit and award nominations are open until March 15, 2024.

Previous award recipients are listed below:

1985:  Ed Matics
1988:  George Dean
1989, January: Virginia Agribusiness Council
1989, June: VA Dept. of Forestry, Personnel Camp
1989, October:  Delegate V. Earl Dickinson
1991:  Charles Finley
1992, May:  Dr. John Hosner
1992, August:  Elmon T. Gray
1993:  Priscilla Woll
1994:  Sture G. Olsson
1999:  B.A. Mullican Lumber & Mfg. Co.
2001:  George L. Beals
2003:  Dr. Harry L Haney
2004:  Bernard L. Smith
2005:  James Garner
2006:  Lynn C. Dickerson II

2007:  Dean P. Cumbia
2008:  Robert M. Shaffer
2009:  Lisa R. Deaton
2010:  John D. Farmer
2011:  John Carroll
2012:  Ken Morgan
2013:  David Wm. Smith       
2014:  C. Harrell Turner
2015:  Glenda Parrish
2016:  Jim Kuykendall

2017:  John Burke
2018:  Jen Gagnon
2019:  Matt Poirot
2020:  VCE Foresters
2021: Preston R. Willson
2022: Joel Cathey
2023: Ed Zimmer


Virginia Forestry Association “Outstanding Member of the Year” Award

This award, given continuously since 1949 by the Virginia Forestry Association, is for the recognition of individual, outstanding contributions in the area of conservation, utilization and enhancement of Virginia’s forest resources. It is given to honor an individual who has 1) gone “above and beyond” his or her normal duties and responsibilities to render service to, and promote the interests of, Virginia forestry, and/or has 2) fostered greater public awareness and understanding of the forests of the Commonwealth and the contributions which they make to all Virginia citizens. This award is presented to an individual each year who has worked in and/or through the Virginia Forestry Association. Such work may be local, regional or statewide in its impact. The specific contributions of the individual selected for this award must be significant and noteworthy and result in a positive continuing impact on the Association, the public, and/or the greater forestry community of the Commonwealth. The award may be based on a single specific activity or project, or may be based on many different activities occurring over a relatively long period of time.

This award is given annually at the Virginia Forestry Summit and award nominations will open in late February 2024.

 Previous award recipients are listed below:

1949:  T. V. Downing
1950:  George W. Dean
1951:  J. L. Holyfield
1952:  G. W. Nichols
1953:  J. C. Lucy
1954:  Bruce Robertson
1955:  Victor W. Stewart
1956:  L. E. England
1957:  Thomas B. Stanley
1958:  J. H. Johnson
1959:  Seth G. Hobart
1960:  Joseph G. Hayes
1961:  Paul C. Edmunds, Sr.
1962:  Robert L. Wallace
1963:  Archer L. Yeatts, Jr.
1964:  Charles C. Steirly
1965:  Richard S. Ellis, III
1966:  William C. Dudley
1967:  James L. Camp, Jr.
1968:  Dr. John F. Hosner
1969:  Garland Gray
1970:  Dr. Paul D. Sanders
1971:  W. H. King
1972:  E. E. Rodger

1973:  Elmon T. Gray
1974:  Archie Wenrich
1975:  Thomas M. Brooks
1976:  F. Carter Flippo
1977:  Thomas G. Harris
1978:  E. Floyd Yates
1980:  Forrest W. Patton
1981:  Wallace F. Custard
1982:  John T. Ferguson
1983:  Donald G. Macdonald
1984:  Arthur P. Flippo
1985:  Dr. Harry L. Haney
1986:  James W. Garner
1987:  Roland B. Geddes
1988:  H. E. Matics
1989:  Bonnie N. Hoover
1990:  T. Nelson Flippo
1991:  Stephen Bennett
1992:  Crockett Morris
1993:  F. W. Howard, M.D.
1994:  Katharine Jensen
1995:  George Ragsdale
1996:  Bernard Smith
1997:  David E. Denham, III

1998:  Dr. Robert M. Shaffer
1999:  Denice Tappero
2000:  Tom Reeder
2001:  Bill Braunworth
2002:  Frank O. Brooks, Jr.
2003:  David C. Froggatt, Jr.
2004:  Marvin Q. Tinsley
2005:  Anitra B. Webster
2006:  Gerald B. Foltz
2007:  Ollie W. Kitchen, Jr.
2008:  C. Harrell Turner
2009:  Joel L. Cathey
2010:  R. Easton Loving
2011:  Anne Beals
2012:  Lisa Deaton
2013:  Carolyn Moon
2014:  John Hancock
2015:  William Snyder
2016:  Brad Fuller

2017:  Rob Farrell
2018:  John Gee
2019:  Glen Worrell
2020:  Stephanie Grubb
2021: John Magruder
2022: Matt Dowdy
2023: Martha Moore 


Virginia Forestry Association Logger Merit Award

The purpose of the Logger Merit Award is to recognize and honor the performance of one or more outstanding logger(s) in the Commonwealth.  Winners are chosen on the basis of a written evaluation of the total logging operation.  The recipient(s) of the Logger Merit Award represent the “best-of-the-best,” and must exemplify the highest professional standards, as they serve as effective positive public role models for the entire logging industry.  Today's professional logger plans his operations, lays out his roads, practices good utilization uses safety equipment and conducts his affairs in a business-like manner.  The emphasis today is also on forest water quality and doing all that is necessary to protect Virginia's streams and rivers.  All loggers must use Best Management Practices to eliminate erosion and sources of sedimentation.  Loggers do this by working closely with the landowner, leaving buffer strips along waterways, and minimizing the impact of harvesting on the land.  The better the job the logger does, the more quickly the land can be replanted.

One or more recipient(s) of VFA's Logger Merit Award are recognized annually at the Virginia Forestry Summit. Award nominations will open in late February 2024. 

Previous award recipients may be found here.