Board of Directors
Pictured above:  VFA's 2019 Board of Directors and Advisory Council Members at the 2019 VA Forestry Summit. 

VFA Board of Directors 2019-2020

VFA's Board of Directors is elected each year by the VFA membership. Each group of elected officers serves a three-year term. 


John Magruder
Three Rivers Forestry, LLC

Vice President/
John Gee
Ontario Hardwoods Inc.
Dan Hockenberger
Virginia Forest Resources
Past President
Carl Garrison


Term Expiring 2020

Matt Dowdy
Dowdy's Forest and Land Management

Greg Gambrel
American Wood Fibers

Stephanie Grubb
International Paper

Billy Newman
Dabney S. Lancaster Community College

Ben Reeves

John Reid
Forest Resources Mgmt Inc

Scott Shallenberger

Jay Sullivan
Virginia Tech-FREC


Term Expiring 2021

Lavan Dauberman
Colonial Farm Credit

Leeland Gardner
JL Gardner Hardwoods

Vance Wright
Wright Forestry LLC

Term Expiring 2022

Jesse Crawford
South Rivers Forestry Consultants LLC

Dean Cumbia
Va. Dept. of Forestry

Christina Hager
Dominion Energy

Chris Harris
Pinecrest Timber Company 






VFA Advisory Council 2019-2020

VFA' s Advisory Council is chosen by the VFA Nominations Committee and asked to participated by the VFA Past President.  Each group of selected council members serve a three-year term.


Rob Farrell
State Forester, Va. Dept. of Forestry

Joby Timm
U.S. Forest Service

Paul Winistorfer
Dean, Virginia Tech - CNRE

Term Expiring 2021

Mike Davis
Novec Energy Production - Halifax County

Michael Everett
Pinecrest Timber Company

Martha Moore
Virginia Farm Bureau Federation

William Snyder

Roderick Walker
Blue Ridge PRISM

Glen Worrell
F&W Forestry 


Term Expiring 2022

Lisa Deaton
Va. Dept. of Forestry

Kirby Funderburke

Terry Godwin
Franklin Lumber

Rich Gouldin
Upper Level Green Farm Corp

Anne Jewell
Dept. of Defense-Army